Books of the Year Revealed at Shortlist Launch
The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2013 shortlist announced in Dublin today features a diverse array of acclaimed writers including Roddy Doyle, Colum McCann, Michael Harding, Darina Allen, Donal Ryan and Frank McGuinness. Also included are memoirs from celebrated media personalities such as Eamon Dunphy and UK comedian Jennifer Saunders, sporting figures such as hurling legends DJ Carey and Seán Óg Ó hAilpín, rugby legend Johnny Sexton as well as new works from Ireland’s much loved fiction writers Patricia Scanlan, Claudia Carroll, Cathy Kelly and newcomer Rachael English. Young Adult and children’s writers nominated include former winners John Boyne, Derek Landy and Chris Judge.

Posted 19 November 2013

Share this:

Books of the Year Revealed at Shortlist Launch
The 2013 awards also include a new category, the Short Story of the Year. The Irish short story has a distinctive place in the modern Irish literary landscape and this is a most welcome development for the awards.

Now in its third year, The Bord Gáis Energy Bookshop of the Year attracted huge numbers of votes and five of the finest bookshops in Ireland have been selected to contest the ultimate bookselling accolade.
The awards will be formally presented at the Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony to be held in The DoubleTree Hotel on Tuesday, November 26th. Voting is open from October 31st to November 21st.

Harry Clarke: the life and work Nicola Gordon Bowe
Harry Clarke was Ireland’s greatest stained glass artist and arguably the finest of his time in any country. He was also an illustrator of genius, whose works have been collector’s items for decades. This will be an enormous contribution to the literature of Irish art, and a collector’s item in itself.

Copyright © 2013-2019  Glass is more!        Copyright, privacy, disclaimer