Pavel Skrott


The jury of this year’s Young Glass celebrates the achievement of an international cast of emerging talent. It is pleasing to see new work and reflect on the dialogue that has developed in each decade since the competition was instigated, embracing new techniques and formal and conceptual challenges.

Posted 12 June 2017

Share this:

Dystopian visions in a turbulent present provided a strong undercurrent to this exhibition. Video art in glass is still in its infancy but is an important tendency. It is equally curious that this artwork can be consumed beyond this museum to everywhere in the world through the power of YouTube. The Sybren Valkema Prize, a 2-week residency at the VRIJ Foundation in Bali, is awarded to Pavel Skrott, for his works Glass…no. 1 and no. 2.
The honest and simple approach to glassblowing and the ongoing search for form characterizes both a continuity as well as challenge to tradition. The Finn Lynggaard Prize is awarded to a Danish glass artist who is a fantastic glassblower committed to process and penetration through to a personal aesthetic in glass. For DP and BBC, Bjørn Friborg receives a prize of €2000 Euro.
The winner of Sunderland Residency has displayed an artwork, which is a testament to commitment and perseverance. Its delicacy and colour refer to the Murano tradition of glass sculpting as well as the implied narrative—a connection with the heavens set against an awareness of the human relationship to nature. For her works When Kingdom was Lowered down to the Earth From Heaven and Crop Circle for Conspicuous Consumption, Carina Cheung is awarded an artist residency at National Glass Centre.
The Glass Factory Residency winner has made a work in a familiar form with a surprising outcome. The artist has found unorthodox approaches to the tradition of glass lighting, and the jury has simply commented that it’s just a nice piece! Weather Chandelier by Rui Sasaki has been awarded an artist residency at The Glass Factory in Sweden.
The jury believes that while new technology has made an impact on glass art, not enough people know quite what to do with it. The winner of the Kyohei Fujita Memorial Prize is an innovative picture in a window that must be seen to be believed. But it is the familiar view of anywhere that plays on memory and our collective experience of home. Erin Dickson’s Windows 3 and 4 are awarded a prize of €5000 Euro.
It is fitting that the winner of the Kvadrat Prize is a technically excellent artwork in its use of glass to create colour, texture and pattern. It mimics the effect of the domestic textile. However its genius lies in the poetic employment of her glassmaking process, exposing the hidden feeling in its fading fabric. For her work Loss, Kathryn Wightman is awarded the Kvadrat Prize of €5000 Euro.
The Ebeltoft Prize-winning artwork is a meditation on process, pointing to a future in glass art that suggests a step away from the refined handmade object. By using glass in its industrial forms as container and conduit, the work explores societal issues and performs a chemical and metaphorical cycle of catalyst, reaction and renewal. For my Chemical Romance, Zuzana Kubelkova is awarded a 10000 Euro grand prize and a future solo exhibition at Glasmuseet Ebeltoft.


From 10th June 2017 Glasmuseet Ebeltoft will take stock of the younger generation of glass artists with the international exhibition YOUNG GLASS 2017 – a censored exhibition, arranged by the museum every ten years – this year as part of European Cultural Capital Aarhus 2017. From 326 applicants, 57 artists from 18 countries have been selected to take part in the exhibition. YOUNG GLASS 2017 will be opened on 10th June by Juliana Engberg, Programme Director, European Cultural Capital Aarhus 2017. The exhibition will run until 29th October 2017.  See more…
See the Agenda Glass is more!>

Strandvejen 8
8400 Ebeltoft, Denmark
+45 (0)8634-1799


Bjørn Friborg

Carina Cheung

Rui Sasaki

Erin Dickson

Kathryn Wightman

Copyright © 2013-2019  Glass is more!        Copyright, privacy, disclaimer